Advance Your Career Header


M.D. “Mickie” Birdsall Scholarship Award


This award, named for M. D. “Mickie” Birdsall, is given in support of economic developers or stakeholders seeking a fundamental understanding of the critical components of a comprehensive economic development strategy.

Presented annually by the University of South Florida’s Small Business Development Center, the IEDC Basic Course is held in November of each year at USF in Tampa, FL.

See a list of recent awardees.


Dan Webster Young Innovator Scholarship Award


Given annually in recognition of the achievements of an outstanding young innovator in economic development in Florida. Recipients of this award will receive a scholarship of up to $5,000 to be applied towards coursework and fees associated with achieving the Certified Economic Developer (CEcD) designation.

See a list of recent awardees.


C2ER Scholarship


This award of up to $5,000 for tuition and travel expenses is offered annually in support of economic developers seeking a pathway to becoming a Certified Economic Research Professional (CERP). Offered by the Council for Community and Economic Research, CERP is the industry standard for recognizing excellence in economic research and embodies the applied skills of economic, demographic, industry, and workforce analysis.