Board of Directors


leaderhip/Board of Directors Graphic


Executive Committee

Michelle Bauer, CEcD – Chair

Chief Operating Officer

Suzanne Christman, CEcD, MEDP – Past Chair

Director of Business Development

Lucienne Pears – Chair Elect

VP Economic and Business Development

Scarlett Phaneuf, CEcD, MEDP – Vice Chair of Membership and Regional Strategies

External Affairs Representative

Jennifer Conoley, CEcD, MEDP – Chair Appointment

President & CEO

Mary Swoope – Conference Chair


Heather Shubirg, MEDP – Vice Co-Chair of Professional Development

Chief Growth Officer

Sherry Ambrose – Vice Co-Chair of Professional Development

Manager of Economic Development,

David Coddington, LEED AP – VC of Advocacy and Communications

Senior Vice President of Business Development

Casey Barnes, CEcD – Vice Chair of Finance

Client Service Leader, A&D and Economic Development

Regional Directors

Verdell Hawkins – Northwest Regional Director

Manager, Economic Development

Jimmy Norris – North Central Regional Director

Economic Development Director

Heidi Jameson – Northeast Regional Director

Director Of Business Development

Tracy Garcia, CEcD, MEDP – East Central Regional Director

Senior Director, Economic Development

Denise Grimsley – South Central Regional Director

Executive Director

James Kohnstamm, CEcD – Southeast Regional Director

Economic Development Director

Melanie Schmees, MBA – Southwest Regional Director

Manager, Sponsored Programs

Max Stewart – Tampa Bay Regional Director

Vice President, Economic Development

Chair Appointments and Ex Officios

Rob Long – Ex Officio

President and CEO

Mark Wilson – Ex Officio

President and CEO

Greg Britton – Ex Officio


Adrienne Johnston – Ex Officio

President & CEO

Maria Grulich – Ex Officio

Director of Global Business

Dan Sidler – Chair Appointment

Vice President, CareerEdge & Economic Development

Dr. Byron Clayton – Chair Appointment

Senior Vice President and Chief of Sector Partnerships

Zach Gilmore – Chair Appointment

Business Consultant